Naga political struggle towards the formation of The State of Nagaland

Print Friendly

By Shri T. Kikon, Ex-Member of
Interim Body of Nagaland
Legislative Assembly

Edited by Rev. Fred Nile

Nagaland is a state in Northeast India. The people of Nagaland are collectively known as Nagas despite being comprised of 16 different tribes — Angami, Ao, Chakhesang, Chang, Dimasa, Khiamniungan, Konyak, Kuki, Lotha,
Phom, Pochury, Rengma, Sangtam, Sumi, Yimchunger, and Zeme-Liangmai (Zeliang). Each tribe has its own unique
customs, language and dress.

Two threads common to all are language and religion. English is the official language, the language of education and spoken by most residents.

Nagaland is one of three states in India where the population is mostly Christian.

They have never been under foreign dominions, until the British came to fight unarmed Nagas during 1830-32, and
formed the Naga Hills district. The Naga Hills dominions, until the British came to fight unarmed Nagas during 1830-32, and formed the Naga Hills district. The Naga Hills Tribal Council was formed in 19-20 June, 1946. The Naga leaders created the Naga flag on 14th August 1947 a day prior to the independence of India from British rule.

The peaceful attitude of the Nagas underwent a change when the Prime Minister of India Jawaharlal Nehru and
U Nu Prime Minister of Burma visited the capital of Nagaland, KOHIMA on 30th March 1953. The Deputy
Commissioner of Nagaland ordered the people to boycott On 30th March 1953, the Prime Minister of India Jawaharlal Nehru and U Nu Prime Minister of Burma visited the capital of Nagaland, KOHIMA. The Deputy Commissioner of Nagaland ordered the people of Nagaland to boycott the visit and thus ended the peaceful
existence of the region. By 1955, Nehru had sent 35 Battalions of Assam Rifles and Assam Armed police aswell as two
divisions of the Indian army.

The Naga political movement took on a different colour; they went underground to show defiance to the Indian
Government. India retaliated by sending their army into Naga Hills and confining people in stockades. Church  leaders were persecuted, churches were desecrated, people were tortured, girls and women were molested, raped and beaten by the Indian military forces.

The Naga National Council (NNC) agreed to negotiate with the Government of India. On 27-28 July 1960 the Naga
delegation met with the Indian Prime Minister and a separate State was granted to Nagaland.

The Nagaland assembly was elected on the 17th February 1961. Delegates then travelled to the Nagaland villages to
encourage unity and peace.

Sadly The President of the Naga peoples council Dr. Imkongliba Ao was assassinated by the violent members of
the Naga underground 1st July 1961.

The full statehood was inaugurated on the 1st December 1963 by the President of India.